Marvel Studios film announcements

Along with the first shots of Avengers: Age of Ultron earlier in the week, Marvel have announced Phase Three of there Marvel Universe films.

At the head of the list was the title Captain America: Civil War, which will have Marvel superheroes fighting against each other — with Cap specifically taking on Robert Downey Jr.’s Iron Man. Slated for release on May 6, 2016, the movie confirms the rumors and significant speculation about the introduction of strife between superheroes in the wake of the 2015 film Avengers: Age of Ultron. The movie will also introduce the character of Black Panther, played by Chadwick Boseman (having already played groundbreaking black men like Jackie Robinson and James Brown in prior films), who will then later appear in his own film, slated for November 3, 2017.

Joining the Black Panther in the “new” category was the announcement of Captain Marvel, Carol Danvers, being included in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. After DC and WB beat them to the punch announcing a standalone super hero movie with a female lead officially in an investor call two weeks ago, Marvel Studios brought out the fanfare – and the fans – for their announcement. The film has no real details yet, other than that it’s coming on July 6, 2018, and will feature both her Earthly origins and a cosmic adventure. The character has not been cast, and Marvel is currently working on securing a director for the film, first.

The entire film slate release by Marvel:

Captain America: Civil War — May 6, 2016.


Doctor Strange — Nov. 4, 2016.


Guardians of the Galaxy 2 — May 5, 2017.


Thor: Ragnarok — July 28, 2017.


Black Panther — Nov. 3, 2017.


Avengers: Infinity War (Part I) — May 4, 2018


Captain Marvel — July 6, 2018.


Inhumans — Nov. 2, 2018.


Avengers: Infinity War (Part II) — May 3, 2019.


I for one can’t wait to watch all of these. Even if I am a whole 5 years older by the time the last one reaches cinemas.



Share This Post